Read This YA Debut Thriller Told in Split Timelines || All Your Twisted Secrets by Diana Urban [Blog Tour]

Title: All Your Twisted Secrets
Author: Diana Urban
Publisher: Harper Teen
Publishing Date: March 17, 2020
Age Category & Genre: Young Adult Mystery, Thriller

Synopsis:

Welcome to dinner, and again, congratulations on being selected. Now you must do the selecting.

What do the queen bee, star athlete, valedictorian, stoner, loner, and music geek all have in common? They were all invited to a scholarship dinner, only to discover it’s a trap. Someone has locked them into a room with a bomb, a syringe filled with poison, and a note saying they have an hour to pick someone to kill … or else everyone dies.

Amber Prescott is determined to get her classmates and herself out of the room alive, but that might be easier said than done. No one knows how they’re all connected or who would want them dead. As they retrace the events over the past year that might have triggered their captor’s ultimatum, it becomes clear that everyone is hiding something. And with the clock ticking down, confusion turns into fear, and fear morphs into panic as they race to answer the biggest question: Who will they choose to die?

✔ time-bound, closed doors thriller
✔ high school kids trapped for a selection
✔ past & present timelines
✔ changing friendship dynamics
✔ perfect for fans of Agatha Christie

All Your Twisted Secrets brings a poison-filled syringe and a ticking bomb to the table where six high school students have been invited for a scholarship dinner, only to find themselves trapped in a basement with no exit and a letter that asks them to choose between everyone dying or killing one among themselves. The thrill is set up right from the first chapter and the progressively projected mystery through a dual timeline narration is perfect. Greatly oriented towards the changing dynamics between teenagers, the need to overachieve, end-of-school stress, old friendships growing apart, misunderstandings, and frequent judgments passed, this YA certainly impresses. Important themes like bullying, chronic stress, and suicide are well spoken about. The different personalities offered by this group brings a delicious variety to the commentary and while it isn’t always easy to justify the happenings in a teenage thriller, this one does a good job at it.

✔ claustrophobia, locked basement
✔ panic & acute stress
✔ hypoglycemic fainting
✔ glass shards, broken ankle
✔ bullying & suicide

Disclaimer: I received a digital copy of this via my participation in a blog tour but that, in no way, affects my rating and/or review. Thank you, FFBC tours, Diana Urban and HarperTeen! This post may contain affiliate links which means I earn a percentage of your purchase using the link without any extra cost to you. Please consider buying through these affiliate links if you wish to support the blog. Thank you!

Click & enter to win one of two copies of All Your Twisted Secrets 🎉

US Only. Ends March 31, 2020.

I’m Diana Urban, and I write dark, twisty thrillers for teens including All Your Twisted Secrets (HarperTeen, March 17th 2020). When I’m not torturing fictional characters, I’m a marketing manager at BookBub, a leading book discovery platform. Outside the bookish world, I live with my husband and cat in Boston,and enjoy reading,video games, fawning over cute animals, and looking at the beach from a safe distance.

Website | Goodreads | Instagram | Twitter

DO YOU LIKE READING CONTEMPORARY THRILLERS? WOULD YOU BE PICKING UP ALL YOUR TWISTED SECRETS? COMMENT BELOW!

3 thoughts on “Read This YA Debut Thriller Told in Split Timelines || All Your Twisted Secrets by Diana Urban [Blog Tour]

  1. Jessica C Writes

    Oo I haven’t heard of this one, but it sounds so interesting! I will definitely have to check it out !!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.